On This Date in Legal History

On September 24, 1789, President George Washington signed into law the Judiciary Act. The Act created our federal court system. It stated the Supreme Court was to have a chief justice and five associate justices (but Congress has since increased the number of associate justices to eight). The Act also established district and circuit courts.

The Judiciary Act of 1789

The Judiciary Act of 1789

Today, there are ninety-four U.S. District Courts, and thirteen U.S. Courts of Appeals. You can read the Act at https://goo.gl/6jJSp4, and learn more about our court system at http://goo.gl/vPoC3g.

About Tina Nelson
Tina Nelson

Tina Nelson is an attorney and mom. She created the LAWSUIT™ board game to teach her three children about the law. The game was an instant success. Copyrights and a patent were obtained, and Professional Games, Inc. was born. Professional Games, Inc. created this blog to educate and keep its friends and customers regularly updated about our American legal system.
This entry was posted in Civics, Constitutional Law, History, History/Social Studies Common Core Curriculum, On This Date, United States Supreme Court and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.